Hakesy the Fat Cat

hayden

We chat to Hayden Manuel AKA Hakesy the Fat Cat. Sneakerhead, Streetwear Afficianado, Blogger and Radio Host at Assembly Radio.

What influences your style and the way you choose to dress?

I’m a bit older now so I think my style is a bit settled and consistent. I’m a sneakerhead so it starts there and I base my outfits around that. Also, I’m a cozy boy, which means I’m big into comfort. I basically look like a thugged out pro athlete everyday.

Who are your personal style icons?

Kanye West, Rick Owens, Marc Jacobs, Pharrel and Nigo.

What are your favourite local and international brands?

2Bop, They Know (obviously), Bape, Vandal A, 10Deep, Diamond Supply Co and Supreme.

What are your thoughts on the street wear/ fashion coming out of South Africa at the moment?

I think it’s bubbling. There are a lot of kids trying to make it and doing it DIY style and those kids are the future. We also have brands doing it big like 2Bop & Sol-Sol who are putting out product of the highest standard. The passion to create and the drive to actually do it are really the only things you need and we have it in abundance.

Following street style trends can easily open one up to becoming a hypebeast. What are the signs that you’re doing it wrong?

If you’re a dude who buys clothes and shoes to impress other dudes then you’re a hypebeast. Wear what you wanna to wear.

What is the worst trend you’ve followed or style choice you’ve made?

The ridiculous belt buckle trend. Hurts just typing this. I had one that had a stack of $100 bills. So stupid!

What is your most prized piece of clothing or accessory you own?

My Nike Air Yeezy collection…easy. They go for about 30k a pair these days.

What is the biggest mission you’ve made to get hold of a particular item of clothing or pair of kicks?

Police be lurking online these days haha.

What are 5 essentials that any man should have in their winter wardrobe?

Invest in good denim.
Headwear is essential.
Well crafted work boots are a good look. Timbs and Red Wings all day.
High end track suits are popping. The more structured the better.
A solid beard game!
As a host of the BMK rap show on Assembly Radio you stay abreast of all the latest rap coming out. 2015 has seen an amazing list of releases. What have been your 5 favourite releases this year alone?

2015 has been a great year for music!
Action Bronson – Mr. Wonderful
Boyzn Bucks – Mswenkofontein
Curren$y – Pilot Talk III
Mashayabhuqe – The Black Excellence EP
Petite Noir – King Of Anxiety EP

You’re a blogger for ‘They Know’ and your personal blog ‘Hakesy The Fat Cat.’ How did you get into it and what keeps you at it?

I’ve always been fascinated with all things digital, I got into online shopping earlier than my friends and peers. People would ask me where I’d get my things and influences so I decided to start a blog where I could “put people on” so to speak. The idea was to expand tastes and open up the door to people who weren’t that familiar with the internet. That blog is still going strong hakesythefatcat.

Published on Axecess.com here.

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a comment